Next month on the 21st of August, 2020 will mark one year since Universal Music Group took on song bird Irene Ntale. Upon initial signage, the “Enamba” singer released her debut single under the label titled “Nyamba” and since, according seemed to have been in hibernation which left fans thirsting for new music from her; knowing the potential and talent underlaying her and the magic she does once she gets a hold of a guitar. Irene only made a few musical appearances including being among the very first artists who were picked, to perform on the Club Beatz At Home online sows that happened all through April till May 2020.

12 months down the road, Irene Ntale finally broke the silence and has since last been promising her fans a project on the way that they could resonate with and just yesterday, Miss Kateteyi (as she’s commonly referred to since she once had a single by that title) shared the 6-track EP by the title ‘Sukaali’.

UMG’s Irene Ntale shares 6 track Sukaali The EP. Listen in Here 1 MUGIBSON

Sukaali The EP serves as the second offering Ntale has offered since landing the recording deal with Universal Music Group Nigeria (UMGNG) last year.

Becoming the first Ugandan artiste to be signed to UMGNG, a division of Universal Music Group (UMG), a world leader in music-based entertainment with strategic divisions in more than 60 countries worldwide, did mean that the former Swangz Avenue star had raised the bar like high up there, and therefore whatsoever she released had to be on point.

Taking off time to create this R&B and Soul master piece, Ntale was to drop the EP some time back but delayed its release due to some hiccups caused by the COVID-19 pandemic. Having finished packaging it, she’s been posting teasers about the project coming out on the 24.07.2020. She did make the announcement of the release yesterday:

Is the project worth the wait?

From a few listens I’ve made of the EP, it really is.

Sukaali The EP comes with 6 tracks on it and these are:

  1. Sukaali
  2. Onkubira Ko
  3. Every Way
  4. Turn Up
  5. Allergy
  6. Mpima

The EP’s songs come with a really unique sound, melodies, rhymes and are rich in the lyrical content. The production was done by sound engineers Nessim Pan Production, Nash Wonder, and the singles on here were sang in languages, English and Luganda and mainly rotate around the theme of Love. The song writers behind the project were Irene Ntale herself, with assistance from renowned song writer; Yese Oman Rafiki, Josh Wonder.

Commenting about the Extended Play, she said: “These six songs are, in a very deep way, an expression of my curtain call to those that have cheered for the music from the beginning,” Irene Ntale said. “Think of it as my bouquet of flowers saying, thank you; saying, alright let’s do this.”

“Sukaali” is a Luganda word translated to mean “Sugar” and listening to the “Sukaali” EP, it is typical that you’ll hear and feel what Irene Ntale intended you to do as her sound and voice is as sweet as the lyrics of the songs on here. The EP is currently Number #1 on Uganda Apple Music Charts.

With a total playtime of only 19 Minutes and 12 seconds, Irene Ntale’s Sukaali The EP, is available on all major streaming and music downloading platforms and was outted under Universal Music Group recording Group/ Label. Take a listen below:

or on Apple Music or your preferred music listening serve: